logo karate.news
Search results :

Meet the New Grand Winners of Karate 1-Premier League 2024!

Grand Winner 2024

The WKF Karate Premier League tournament in Casablanca, Morocco, held from May 31 to June 2, 2024, not only marked the end of this year’s circuit but also crowned the new Grand Winners of the Karate 1-Premier League. This event, with 355 athletes from 54 countries, was a culmination of intense competition, and the following athletes have emerged as the “Best of the Best” for 2024:

2024 Grand Winners:

  • Female Kata: Maho Ono (JPN)
  • Female Kumite -50KG: Moldir Zhangbyrbay (KAZ)
  • Female Kumite -55KG: Valentina Toro (CHI)
  • Female Kumite -61KG: Reem Khamis (GER)
  • Female Kumite -68KG: Elena Quirici (SUI)
  • Female Kumite +68KG: Maria Torres (ESP)
  • Male Kata: Nishiyama Kakeru (JPN)
  • Male Kumite -60KG: Hiromu Hashimoto (JPN)
  • Male Kumite -67KG: Said Oubaya (MAR)
  • Male Kumite -75KG: Abdalla Abdelaziz (EGY)
  • Male Kumite -84KG: Daniyar Yuldashev (KAZ)
  • Male Kumite +84KG: Taha Tarek Mahmoud (EGY)
Grand Winner 2024
Grand Winner 2024

Comparison to Previous Years

Female Kata:

  • 2024: Maho Ono (JPN)
  • 2023: Hikaru Ono (JPN)
  • 2022: Hikaru Ono (JPN)
  • 2020-2021: Sandra Sanchez (ESP)

Japan continues to dominate the Female Kata category, with Maho Ono taking over from Hikaru Ono, who held the title for the previous two years. Sandra Sanchez of Spain was the standout winner in 2020-2021.

Female Kumite -50KG:

  • 2024: Moldir Zhangbyrbay (KAZ)
  • 2023: Yorgelis Salazar (VEN)
  • 2022: Yorgelis Salazar (VEN)
  • 2020-2021: Serap Ozcelik Arapoglu (TUR)

Moldir Zhangbyrbay breaks the streak of Yorgelis Salazar, who held the title for two consecutive years.

Female Kumite -55KG:

  • 2024: Valentina Toro (CHI)
  • 2023: Anzhelika Terliuga (UKR)
  • 2022: Anzhelika Terliuga (UKR)
  • 2020-2021: Anzhelika Terliuga (UKR)

Valentina Toro’s victory interrupts Anzhelika Terliuga’s dominance in this category over the past three years.

Female Kumite -61KG:

  • 2024: Reem Khamis (GER)
  • 2023: Reem Khamis (GER)
  • 2022: Anita Serogina (UKR)
  • 2020-2021: Merve Coban (TUR)

Reem Khamis successfully defends her title from 2023, showing consistent performance in the -61KG category.

Female Kumite -68KG:

  • 2024: Elena Quirici (SUI)
  • 2023: Elena Quirici (SUI)
  • 2022: Irina Zaretska (AZE)
  • 2020-2021: Feryal Abdelaziz (EGY)

Elena Quirici maintains her top position from last year, demonstrating her prowess in the -68KG category.

Female Kumite +68KG:

  • 2024: Maria Torres (ESP)
  • 2023: Ayumi Uekusa (JPN)
  • 2022: Ayaka Saito (JPN)
  • 2020-2021: Meltem Hocaoglu Akyol (TUR)

Maria Torres claims the title this year, ending Japan’s hold on this category over the previous two years.

Male Kata:

  • 2024: Nishiyama Kakeru (JPN)
  • 2023: Nishiyama Kakeru (JPN)
  • 2022: Nishiyama Kakeru (JPN)
  • 2020-2021: Damian Quintero (ESP)

Nishiyama Kakeru continues his dominance, holding the Male Kata title for three consecutive years.

Male Kumite -60KG:

  • 2024: Hiromu Hashimoto (JPN)
  • 2023: Hiromu Hashimoto (JPN)
  • 2022: Aminagha Guliyev (AZE)
  • 2020-2021: Angelo Crescenzo (ITA)

Hiromu Hashimoto secures the title again, showcasing his consistent skill in the -60KG category.

Male Kumite -67KG:

  • 2024: Said Oubaya (MAR)
  • 2023: Abdel Rahman Almasatfa (JOR)
  • 2022: Dionysios Xenos (GRE)
  • 2020-2021: Ali Elsawy (EGY)

Said Oubaya’s victory marks a new chapter in the -67KG category, taking over from last year’s winner, Abdel Rahman Almasatfa.

Male Kumite -75KG:

  • 2024: Abdalla Abdelaziz (EGY)
  • 2023: Quentin Mahauden (BEL)
  • 2022: Abdalla Abdelaziz (EGY)
  • 2020-2021: Luigi Busa (ITA)

Abdalla Abdelaziz regains his title, continuing his strong presence in the -75KG category.

Male Kumite -84KG:

  • 2024: Daniyar Yuldashev (KAZ)
  • 2023: Mohammad Aljafari (JOR)
  • 2022: Mohamed Ramadan (EGY)
  • 2020-2021: Zabiollah Poorshab (IRI)

Daniyar Yuldashev emerges as the new champion in the -84KG category, adding to Kazakhstan’s medal tally.

Male Kumite +84KG:

  • 2024: Taha Tarek Mahmoud (EGY)
  • 2023: Ryzvan Talibov (UKR)
  • 2022: Mahmoud Taha Tarek (EGY)
  • 2020-2021: Gogita Arkania (GEO)

Taha Tarek Mahmoud reclaims his title from 2022, demonstrating his continued excellence in the +84KG category.


This year’s Karate 1-Premier League saw impressive performances and some shifts in dominance across various categories. Japan continued to show its strength, particularly in kata, while other countries like Egypt, Kazakhstan, and Germany also made significant marks. As we look forward to the upcoming world championships, these Grand Winners will undoubtedly be key competitors to watch.

Share This :

Leave a Reply